The Department of History

College of Arts & Sciences


Faculty & Staff

Faculty

f-anderson
Margaret Andersen

Assistant Professor
(865) 974-9896
mcookand@utk.edu

f-bast
Robert Bast

Associate Professor
(865) 974-7083
rbast@utk.edu

f-black
Chad Black

Associate Professor
(865) 974-9871
cblack6@utk.edu

Monica Black2
Monica Black

Associate Professor, Associate Head
865-974-5424
mblack9@utk.edu

Block
Kristen Block

Associate Professor
865-974-7413
kblock3@utk.edu

f-burman-b
Thomas E. Burman

Professor
(865) 974-7082
tburman@utk.edu

f-dessel-b
J.P. Dessel

Associate Professor
(865) 974-9872
jdessel@utk.edu

Feller 2012
Daniel Feller

Professor, Director of The Papers of Andrew Jackson
(865) 974-7077
dfeller@utk.edu

Ernest Freeberg 2
Ernest Freeberg

Professor, Department Head
(865) 974-7090
efreeber@utk.edu

gillis
Matthew Gillis

Assistant Professor
865-974-5559
mgillis1@utk.edu

Harlow
Luke Harlow

Associate Professor
(865) 974-7093
lharlow1@utk.edu

f-higgs
Catherine Higgs

Professor, Vice Chair of Africana Studies
(865) 974-7095
chiggs@utk.edu

Lafferty
Maura Lafferty

Associate Professor
865-974-9896
mlaffert@utk.edu

f-latham
Jacob Latham

Assistant Professor
(865) 974-5406
spqr@utk.edu

2014 Liulevicius
Vejas Gabriel Liulevicius

Lindsay Young Professor & Director, CSWS
(865) 974-7320
vliulevi@utk.edu

f-magra2
Christopher P. Magra

Associate Professor
(865) 974-9868
cmagra@utk.edu

Nenzi
Laura Nenzi

Associate Professor
(865) 974-9867
lnenzi@utk.edu

f-norrell
Robert J. Norrell

Professor & Bernadotte Schmitt Chair of Excellence
(865) 974-1130
rnorrell@utk.edu

Tore Olsson
Tore Olsson

Assistant Professor
865-974-7081
colsson@utk.edu

2014 Phillips
Denise Phillips

Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Studies
(865) 974-1473
aphill13@utk.edu

f-reed
Julie L. Reed

Assistant Professor
(865) 974-7078
jreed56@utk.edu

f-rubenstein
Jay Rubenstein

Professor
(865) 974-9866
jrubens1@utk.edu

f-sacco-b
Lynn Sacco

Associate Professor
(865) 974-7092
lsacco@utk.edu

Sanft photo
Charles Sanft

Associate Professor
(865) 974-5556
csanft@utk.edu

shepardson
Christine Shepardson

Associate Professor, Project Director & Seminar Chair, Faculty Research Seminar on Late Antiquity
865-974-2181
cshepard@utk.edu

2014 Vacca
Alison Vacca

Assistant Professor
865-974-9870
avacca@utk.edu

Dr. Shannen Dee Williams
Shannen Dee Williams

Assistant Professor
865-974-7088
swill132@utk.edu

Winford
Brandon Winford

Assistant Professor
865-974-5423
bwinford@utk.edu

2014 Wu
Shellen Wu

Assistant Professor
(865) 974-7085
swu5@utk.edu

Associate Faculty

JLFriend
John Friend

Assistant Professor, Classics
865-974-5404
jfriend@utk.edu

hulsether
Mark Hulsether

Professor, Religious Studies
865-974-2466
mhulseth@utk.edu

magilow
Daniel Magilow

Associate Professor, German
(865) 974-7163
dmagilow@utk.edu

Aleydis_VandeMoortel_10-38304-1
Aleydis Van de Moortel

Associate Professor, Classics
865-974-8279
avdm@utk.edu

Research Professors

f-coens
Tom Coens

Research Associate Professor
(865) 974-0660
tcoens@utk.edu

Cohen photo
Michael Cohen

Research Assistant Professor
(865) 974-2069
mdcohen@utk.edu

Laura-Eve Moss
Laura-Eve Moss

Research Associate Professor
(865) 974-0660
lmoss3@utk.edu

Lecturers

Emeritus

Staff

beckley
Mary Beckley

Undergraduate Secretary
865-974-5421
mcopela8@utk.edu

Cook
Sarah Cook

Academic Advisor

scook13@utk.edu

harrison
Kim Harrison

Administrative Specialist
865-974-7079
kharriso@utk.edu

2014 Koprince
Bernie Koprince

Graduate Secretary
865-974-0399
bkoprinc@utk.edu

Contribute to a big idea. Give to the Department of History.


The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Big Orange. Big Ideas.

Knoxville, Tennessee 37996 | 865-974-1000
The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System