Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Scholarship Recipients

Mckenna Alexander, Senior

McKenna received the 2020 Maud Callaway Hays Award, which recognizes a junior or senior in our department for academic excellence in the field of American history. The faculty members who nominated McKenna for this award described her as “bright, enthusiastic, and accomplished, “one of the most responsive students.” and “determined to do well.” One recommender simply stated “It has been my pleasure and privilege to teach McKenna.”

John Clugg

John Clugg, Senior

John received the 2020 J Harvery Mathes DAR Award, which recognizes strong academic work by a history major at any level. John’s recommenders spoke of him as an “enthusiastic and serious student” and “highly intelligent…with a passion for British naval history.” Also mentioned was John’s acceptance into UT’s graduate teaching program and plans to become a teacher, “a job for which he is wonderfully well suited.”